you're reading...
Uncategorized

Well, that’s convenient

One of the weird and, I guess, helpful things about this second helping business is that I already have my bereavement resources all lined up. I am going to the same therapist as last time, attending the same bereavement group, and I already own all the bereavement books!

Reminds me of this obnoxious song one of friends described as “a song you sing until someone hits you”

Oh the horse put his foot, put his foot on the ground/the horse put his foot, put his foot on the ground/the horse put his foot, put his foot on the ground/ain’t that a terrible song.

The chorus is:

Same song, second verse, it might get better (in obnoxious voice) but it’s GONNA GET WORSE.

I found a card from my sister, dated late in 2007 On the front is a picture of the NYC skyline and inside it reads “Hey little sis, when it is always winter and never Christmas in your heart, remember New York is the best place in the world to start over.”

Surprisingly consoling. Even the second time around.

About Kelli Dunham

Everyone's favorite ex-nun genderqueer nerd comic.

Discussion

One thought on “Well, that’s convenient

  1. This is the song that never ends, it just goes on and on my friend… Heheheh. My sister is the best in the world. EVER. She’s the best. Have I mentioned she’s the best.

    Posted by torchlakedays | October 17, 2011, 7:26 am

Leave a Reply

Kelli Dunham: registered nurse, author, stand-up comic

I am also--despite being under 45 years old- a two time widow, having lost two partners in a row to cancer. GRIEF SUCKS is a reaction to the kitsch that passes as death /dying/ bereavement discussion in the popular/ dominant culture and makes me want to poke out my eye with a spoon. I'm also including nuts and bolts info about caregiving and building support systems that I've picked up on these journeys.

COLLEGE? PRIDE? CLUB? COMMUNITY ORGANIZATION?

If you stumbled here looking to book me comedy shows or presentations, you'll find all the information you need at

my main comedy site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,085 other followers

